Meeting, Apologies and Essential Phrases in Brazilian Portuguese

Meeting / Apologies / Essential

English Brazilian Portuguese
Yes. Sim.
Uh uhu. Ãrrã/um-rum
No. Não.
Hello! Olá.
Hi! Oi.
Good Morning. Bom dia.
Good afternoon or evening. Boa tarde.
Good night. Boa noite.
Good bye. Tchau or Até logo (the second sounds more like see you soon)
How are you? Como vai você? or Como vai?
I`m fine, thanks. Eu vou bem, obrigado.
And you? E você?
What`s your name? Qual o seu nome? or Como você se chama?
My name is… Meu nome é… or Eu me chamo…
This is my wife… Esta é minha mulher…
This is my husband… Este é meu marido…
This is my friend… Este é meu amigo… (male)
Esta é minha amiga… (female)
This is my workmate… Este é meu colega de trabalho… (male)
Esta é minha colega de trabalho… (female)
Pleased to meet you. Muito prazer.
Where are you from? De onde você é?
I come from or I`m from… Eu sou de…
Do you speak English? Você fala inglês?
I don`t understand Portuguese. Eu não entendo português.
I don`t speak Portuguese. Eu não falo português.
Excuse me! (asking for attention) Com licença!
Excuse me! (asking for pass/walk) Licença, por favor.
Please. Por favor.
Hold on. Espere aí!
Thank you very much! Muito obrigado!
Watch out! Cuidado!
Thanks! Obrigado!
You are welcome. De nada.
Excuse me/Sorry! Me desculpe! or Perdão!
It was an accident Foi sem querer.
Never mind. Tudo bem.
This entry was posted in Brazilian Portuguese, Brazilian Portuguese Phrasebook and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

